Art software people use

Domtron Vox

Art software people use

Post by Domtron Vox » November 28th, 2016, 8:44 am

Just curious what software people use.

I am by no means an artist, but I dabble in the digital arts. I made my poor excuse for an avatar in Inkscape mostly just to try out vector art, it's a comma cat. :P I use Gimp fairly regularly to touch up screenshots for school and used it for pixel art for a few games I tried to make. Finally, I use Blender on and off trying to make 3D models.

I also do some stuff in CAD software for school though that isn't exactly art. I recently found a FOSS CAD program called Solvespace that looks nice and polished, but I haven't had a chance to really try it out because of school.

So I use all FOSS programs, mostly because I stay on linux most of the time. How about you guys? What programs do you like to use? :)
word count: 151

DragonStar Gaming
CC Member
CC Member
Steam Profile: DragonStarGaming

Re: Art software people use

Post by DragonStar Gaming » November 28th, 2016, 11:38 am

I use Adobe software (illustrator and Photoshop) but only because my school provides it to me. :D

If you're ever going to be serious about graphic designing, paying for Adobe products is the way to go. Otherwise the programs you're using are good substitutes.
word count: 45

Michael Fedora
CC Member
CC Member
Steam Profile: MikeFed
Origin Profile: MichaelFedorai
UPlay Player: MichaelFedora
Battle.net Profile: MikeFed#1151

Post by Michael Fedora » November 28th, 2016, 11:59 am

I half disagree about Adobe; FOSS software is still really good, though only if you're a freelancer or your studio is extra special ;P Adobe is standard in the graphic industry though, yes.

I use Gimp for just about anything pixel related. Textures, gifs, photo-manipulation, etc.
Inkscape for vectors obviously :P And for things like labels or logos and other scale-able graphics.
Blender for 3D, sculpting, rigging, animating, rendering, vfx, and compositing.